Newbe programer simple question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbe programer simple question

I am very new to this and I am sure it's a simple answer, but at the moment it has me stumped. I am checking a part that is a rectangle shape with a hole in the middle of the part about 2.5" in diameter, the hole has a slot about .350 wide @ 12 o'clock. I am trying to make sure that the slot is in the center of the hole.

I do an alignment then and measure the hole, take four hits in the slot two on each side. Construct a slot, then ask for a distance from the left side of the part to the circle. That works fine, but when I ask for the distance from the left side of the part to the slot I get a number that I don't feel is right.

I then took gage blocks an put into the slot and measure across them and ask for the distance from the left side of the part to the centerline of the gage blocks and get what I belive to be the correct number.

What am I missing?

Can you post a drawing or sketch of the part?

I think what you are after is pretty straightforward but it depends on the part.

Comment

Originally posted by JLHUTT View Post
      I am very new to this and I am sure it's a simple answer, but at the moment it has me stumped. I am checking a part that is a rectangle shape with a hole in the middle of the part about 2.5" in diameter, the hole has a slot about .350 wide @ 12 o'clock. I am trying to make sure that the slot is in the center of the hole.

I do an alignment then and measure the hole, take four hits in the slot two on each side. Construct a slot, then ask for a distance from the left side of the part to the circle. That works fine, but when I ask for the distance from the left side of the part to the slot I get a number that I don't feel is right.