Find Nominals from CAD

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Find Nominals from CAD

If I am measuring with CAD and I do NOT have this on, are the results screwed? I measured the same part with it on and with it off, different results. Is this new with 4.0 on up? I don't remember seeing this button. To be fair, I've never used a lot of CAD before, either.

TIA

Originally posted by John Kugler View Post
    If I am measuring with CAD and I do NOT have this on, are the results screwed? I measured the same part with it on and with it off, different results. Is this new with 4.0 on up? I don't remember seeing this button. To be fair, I've never used a lot of CAD before, either.

TIA
    Unless they have completly bolluxed it up in that version, you do NOT need FIND NOMS marked.

IF I under stand it correctly, there are 2 'find noms' in Pcdmis and they are used in different ways:

FIND NOMS will make Pcdmis 'look' for nominal cad data for a manual touch, within a specified tolerance limit, ie no cad within 5mm, no nominals found.

FIND NOMS ON EXECUTE will make Pcdmis re-pierce the cad model EVERY TIME you run the program, picking NEW nominals for each and every point. I would NOT use this ONLINE in any way, since NO machine positions perfectly, this will make all your points 'migrate' accross the cad model AND makes it a real pain to do any AXIAL SPC since the nominals will change for each part.
    sigpic
    Originally posted by AndersI
    I've got one from September 2006 (bug ticket) which has finally been fixed in 2013.

Comment

There are actually 3. Find Noms and Find Noms on Execute in the F5 Setup.

There is a Find Nominal from CAD mode button on the Probe Mode toolbar.

Any ideas what the last one is? That is the one I'm playing with. I have the Find Noms on, but not on execute from F5.

Thanks again.

Comment