Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bolt circle and True position

Hello everyone,
    I am new to PC-DMIS and operating our CMM. I am using 3.5 on a browne and sharpe. We make rotors for vehicles and I am concerned about the way our old CMM programmer set it up to check true position of the bolt hole circle. A rotor is pretty easy to imagine so I hope someone can help. First he would create the bolt holes around a large center hole about 3 -3.5". Then he would construct a circle using bolt hole 1, bolt hole2, bolt hole3, bolt hole4, bolt hole 5, and so on if there was more. I think he is only getting the true position of the bolt hole circle and not of each bolt hole. I don't think this is completely accurate for telling if the bolt holes themselves are off. We are having problems because the CMM is saying it is good but it won't fit on the hard gauge.

I messed around with it for a while and I created the bolt holes just like him but then, instead of making the "Bolt circle", I "constructed a Set of features" and made the true position out of the set. Now the report says its bad when it won't fit on the gauge, which is what I wanted, but I also don't think it is figuring a "Bonus" for me.

I am sure this is simple for all yall...Hope you can make me look good in front of the boss. lol

Thanks for the help,
    Tom

Are each of the holes in the bolt circle dimesnioned with True Position?
    In other words, are there basic angles showing how they are to be positioned?
    Lately, it occurs to me
    What a long, strange trip it's been.

2017 R1 (Offline programming)

Comment