Checking Threads?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Checking Threads?

Newbie here. I can hear the laughing now. O.k., Ok. everyone calm done now. Boss brings in the part , about 12" diameter, it's a flat plate with close to 300 holes in it, with some other pretty simple features. However, the holes are already threaded, as they are 4-40 threaded holes. Do I have to create a cylinder for the holes? I don't even have a probe small enough to move around in these little holes. ( Well, my wife thinks different, but we won't go there.)LOL ( Actually John Holmes and I run neck and neck in size values (not).
    I have read some other posts on the forum how to check threaded holes, but this seems to be a bit tough. If the holes were only drilled ,it would be nice, but I am not for sure what to do here. A solid shank probe of some sort would probably do the trick. I don't have any on hand at work right now. Otherwise, I have to go to the Microhite and setup for a long inspection. By the way T.P. of the holes to -A-B-is .004.
    Thanks for your help in advance.
    I had to remind my boss that I have only been on the CMM for 17 hours total in learning experience with no formal training.
    I know: I should have figured this thing out by now.
    I don't feel tardy!sigpic
    B&S "One" V4.2
    Discovery D-12 V4.2

threads are not that big a deal
    TP of .004 is doable

You will need a 1mm or 1.5mm ball.
    When you do "Autocircle" you will need to add one more value in.
    In the box called "properties" the bottom item is pitch.
    Put in the inch value of the 4-40 thread (.025).
    Make sure your depth is below that of the chamfer so the chamfer does not effect your readings.

so what this does is follow the pitch while probing, kinda like running a screw into the hole