Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Iterative Alignment remeasure

Hi People!
    Newbie here and very first post. I don't understand the purpose to remeasure an iterative alignment? What I have been doing is using the manual iterative alignment just to snap to the cad coordinates then creating a DCC ailgnment to the datum features I require. This method has been working fine without any problems. I am a former machinist/G-Code programer and have a year experience with this cmm. Could someone help me understand the remeasure option better?
    PC-DMIS 3.7MR3/4.2MR1

Originally posted by ronnan View Post
    Hi People!
    Newbie here and very first post. I don't understand the purpose to remeasure an iterative alignment? What I have been doing is using the manual iterative alignment just to snap to the cad coordinates then creating a DCC ailgnment to the datum features I require. This method has been working fine without any problems. I am a former machinist/G-Code programer and have a year experience with this cmm. Could someone help me understand the remeasure option better?
    That is the priciple behind an "Iterative" alignment. The definition of "Iterate" is along the lines of this...
    repeat something: to say or do the same thing again.

So, it is a refinement of the first alignment, getting closer and closer to the nominal value until it either gets there or runs out of radial tolerance allowed. That work for you?
    sigpic

James Mannes

Comment

Using this procedure I always had at least three bores and sample hits on the same plane, and it always snapped to the cad nominals. Maybe it is just beginners luck. Is the remeasure option for other feature types?
      PC-DMIS 3.7MR3/4.2MR1

Comment

I ma not sure what your procedure is, but, here is the methodology I use...

Go HERE
        Last edited by JamesMannes; 06-10-2007, 10:58 PM.
        sigpic

James Mannes

Comment

Hi People!