Speaking of scanning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Speaking of scanning

This isn't about that, but did make me think to ask the group their opinion. My boss brought me a colorized picture of a part (we make automotive glass). This had different colors representing highs and lows of the measured part vs, cad. It came from Europe. I know you can scan and get something similar but I want to take a series of points from a grid and compare to the cad. I've heard of Rhino, Verisurf and Checkmate doing something like this. As far as I know I cannot get it directly from PCDMIS. Anyone have any suggestions as to what software can do this.
    Basically I want to take a lot of points with the CMM and read these into a software which will then compare them to the CAD data and give me a picture showing in colors the highs and lows, say blue for ok in spec, yellow for on the edge and red for out of spec. I know this can be done but I'm a little new to this type of output. I can get something similar from cad but it only checks the surface I tell it to and doesn't compare, plus you have to jump thru a lot of hoops to get there. I hope I made this clear enough to understand.
    Any suggestions? I already know how to drink beer and plan to consume mass quanities this weekend.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. Hunter S. Thompson

We have a laser scanner and can produce such reports with Geomagic. That is all I can tell you. I don't use the software and haven't been trained on it. Matt Hoedeman might know something.

Comment

PCDMIS can already do what your asking.
      Mr. Comment
      SCIROCCO-NT 13-20-10
      B3C-LC Controller (Leitz Protocol), SP600M, TP200
      PCDMIS CAD++ v4.3 MR1(Build: 12/11/08)
      sigpic

Comment