Error: No error occurred

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Error: No error occurred

Here's something that's popped up recently: I'm running 3.7mr3 on Sheffield RS70s and RS30 (although this happens off-line and should have no bearing on what CMM I'm running) and I've had a couple instances where I import an IGES file into a program and I get "Current Dir\.....: Serialization error. Error: No error occurred." It actually imports fine without any errors, but the first time you try to save you will get the error and it won't let you save or save as, you're just snafued.

All the PCs are sufficient, Pentium 4s with 2GB Ram running XP Pro with full admin rights. I make the IGES files myself from Pro/E and import them to DMIS. I've done this many many times and with much bigger models. I only have two programs I have this issue with.

Now here's where things get weird, I started playing around trying to figure out if it's something I did, the model, or DMIS. I remade IGES files, same result. I tried 3.7mr2 and it did the same thing. But when I saved the program down to 3.5 before importing it works fine. I can even take the .CAD from the 3.7xx attempt and use it in a 3.5 program and it will work just fine. This makes it look like it's something with DMIS 3.7xx programs?

So basically I have a work around by saving the program down to 3.5 and I wasn't going to worry about it. But yesterday I was asked to try and open a STEP file R&D was sending to a vendor and the vendor complained of getting a serialization error in DMIS. Well I get the exact same thing as with the two IGES files I had. Once again saving the program down to 3.5 before importing the STEP file works just fine. So it doesn't seem to be file type.