FCF Options with MMC on a Datum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FCF Options with MMC on a Datum

ok, so I'm really new at this. Our CMM programmer left, and I got a crash course from him in PC-DMIS before he left. I have a little down time, so I'm going through some programs to train myself and get deeper into PC-DMIS.

Anyway, I can't seem to figure out how he got the FCF to have a MMC on the secondary datum. Can anyone please help me out? I attached the FCF he made, is structure within XactMeasure, as well as the drawing call out.

Any guidance would be appreciated.
    Attached Files

Strictly speaking that callout is invalid because it references the cone as a datum at MMB. Cones are not considered features of size so applying the MMB would be illegal. It looks like your predecessor got around this by creating an intersection circle (CIR20) between the cone and top face to represent the Ø0.279/0.289 and referenced that as datum R at MMB instead. That approach works in this case because datum R is the secondary datum and is only being used as the origin. It would also work as a tertiary datum but for a primary it would be better to construct a generic cylinder that uses the circle's D value and the cone's X,Y,Z,I,J,K values. That would ensure that it used the cone's axis to control the appropriate degrees of freedom (two rotation and two translation), since a circle is only a 2D feature it's vector would be inherited from the top face and would therefore control things differently.
    Last edited by neil.challinor; 04-14-2021, 08:24 AM.
    Neil Challinor
    PC-DMIS Product Owner

T: +44 870 446 2667 (Hexagon UK office)
    E: [email protected]

Comment