Read Point

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Read Point

Good Day everyone! I'm fairly new to PC-DMIS and was introduced to the read point alignment. I can get it to work with minimal issues - It seems that the feature directly after this alignment is greatly affected by how close the operator sets the probe to the read point location - sometimes it misses the feature, as an OD Ø for example - any help on this is appreciated.

One option is to increase your prehit and retract values to allow more room for operator error.

Comment

Originally posted by MetsoMetrology View Post
      One option is to increase your prehit and retract values to allow more room for operator error.
      I second this. I run my programs at .1" prehit/retract/check distances but I increase it to between .2" to .3" on read point alignment programs. I drop it back to .1" after the DCC alignment though. No need to run that much through the whole program unless you have a specific need for it.
      Remembering my beautiful wife Taz who's life was lost on 6-13-2020. I love you and I miss you.

Comment

PREHIT, RETRACT, CHECK are the three values you want to manipulate as you're "finding" your part. CHECK is the distance PC DMIS will search for material once it goes past the prehit zone and realizes that it hasn't touched anything.

My nominal TOUCHSPEED is 5. However, you'll see that on the larger ID I made my touchspeed fast to speed things up (this cir also has larger prehit and retract) and once I find the initial large circle I go back in and measure the same circle again with correct touch parameters.

A3 would be my "finding" alignment. From there, I would find datums all in order & go to town.

Code:
        LOADPROBE/7107_Y_3X40
        TIP/T1A0B0, SHANKIJK=0, 0, 1, ANGLE=0
        MODE/DCC
        COMMENT/OPER,NO,FULL SCREEN=YES,AUTO-CONTINUE=NO,
        Drive probe to readpoint.

Ball is central to hole shown.

Ball is coplanar with Datum -A-.