Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CMM is not repeating measurements

Hi,

I'm completely new in the CMM world and I'm working now with a CMM but the machine is not repeating the measurements when I measure the same part twice. Some of the dimensions vary from 30 to 50 microns between readings. The CMM programs was provided.
    1. We are using a fixture to hold the part. If the part is not located exactly in the same position of before, couple of microns different, could that affect the readings?
    2. I tried to check the alignments in the CMM programs and it seems like all the 6 degree of freedom are locked. Is there any way that all degree of freedom are locked and still having different readings?
    3. Anyone that recommend me a book, tutorial, YouTube channel to learn how to programming and alignments?
    Thanks in advance

30 to 50 microns is very small. However, did you calibrate the probes? If so, are they within acceptable standard deviation? Are the probes clean? Is the part clean? Did you plate the part to see if you got the same measurements the cmm got. Those are the things I would start with first.
    Darroll
    2018R2

Comment

• hvelez55
      hvelez55 commented
      Editing a comment
      The probe was calibrated. I will be more aware about the cleaning of the part and probes.

So it's normal have a variation of 30 to 50 microns between readings of the same part?

• JEFMAN
      JEFMAN commented
      Editing a comment
      Darrollh : 30 to 50 µm are very small on plastic parts or sheet metal, not on machined parts !!! It's the same part measured twice, not two different parts...
      hvelez55 : I would say no, it's not normal...

• hvelez55
      hvelez55 commented
      Editing a comment
      @jefman: Thanks for your input and you are correct, the parts are machined.

Tons of questions here:
    Type of measurements not repeating
    Probing system
    number of hits per feature
    Etc. Etc. Etc.

Comment