Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• L Shape Probe Calibration

Hi all

i Have an L shape probe that keeps losing calibration. It will go from .0001 stdev one day to .002 the next. I have a 2by20 i use as master. I tried changing start and end angles, nothing is loose on the probe either. It keeps giving me the Failed Calibration error. i changed the 1by10 tip, same. changed the TP20 also, still same. changed the extension, still same. i don't know what is happening. I use this setup a lot and i desperately need it to work.. It will calibrate okay one day and completely off the next. I cleaned everything a million times-but nothing has helped. Usually the first indication of it losing calibration is that it will give me crazy results when measuring a part. I calibrate my tips daily and like i said i use a master tip. PLEASE HELP!!
    Attached Files

I'm actually using a TP20_6WAY module. I deleted the probe and re-created it that's why in the picture it's a standard TP20

Comment

1) Ensure that the file itself that your probe files are stored in IS NOT "read only". If it is "read only", the software can't write to OR update the file once you calibrate, so nothing would actually be happening at a software level when you tell the machine to physically calibrate. This is a windows setting.
      2) Ensure you're calibrating correctly. Master probe you should say YES sphere has moved for T1A0B0, all other tips on the Master and for all other tips on all subsequent probes, you should be saying NO sphere has NOT moved.

With the above being said, there are also environmental factors that could cause a change in accuracy..

FOD in the air (oil particulates, dust, chips, etc settling on the probe)
      Temp fluctuations
      Humidity fluctuations

Is this a shop floor CMM or one in a nice clean lab with temp control?
      Last edited by DAN_M; 11-20-2020, 02:11 PM.
      Beep beep beep..

Comment

Originally posted by DAN_M View Post