Threaded holes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Threaded holes

I am a instructor at Plam Beach CC learning how to program and run a simple block form student project. My question is how do we program to check a 1/4-20 threaded hole? I am using 10 hits for diameter and position. I am thinking I should measure as a cylinder with even more hits to get enough points on the thread helix to establish position.

Use a cylinder, use 2 levels with 5 hits per level and enter .05 (1 divided by 20) for the pitch. The distance between your depth and height (the two rows of your cylinder) should be a multiple of the pitch. (example: hole is .5 deep with .4 thread, set depth @ .1 and height @ .3. The difference of .3-.1 = .2 which is = .05 x 4) I do this all time and it works well.HTH
    sigpic"Hated by Many, Loved by Few" _ A.B. - Stone brewery

Comment

How about using the thread feature in the auto circle???
      Links to my utilities for PCDMIS

Comment

Originally posted by cmmguy View Post
        How about using the thread feature in the auto circle???
        You can, but if the hole was hand tapped crooked . . .

Comment

Originally posted by Wes Cisco View Post
          You can, but if the hole was hand tapped crooked . . .
          The hand tap will only follow the minor diameter which is created using the drilled hole. Now if that is crooked...

Comment

The hand tap will only follow the minor diameter which is created using the drilled hole. Now if that is crooked...
            Naw, you can get the tap to go in skewed to the drilled hole, if you are hand tapping. I have seen it, I have done it. Usually (but not always) it will also break the tap, but it can be done.
            sigpic
            Originally posted by AndersI
            I've got one from September 2006 (bug ticket) which has finally been fixed in 2013.

Comment