Another polygon scanning post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another polygon scanning post

I know this has been covered pretty extensively on here, but for some reason I can't seem to get this to work on my machine. I'm pretty new to CMM programming in general, so hopefully someone can kind of break this down to a level I can understand. I'm using PC-Dmis 2019 R1 with a HP-S-X1H scanning head. I'm trying to scan a polygon and then report the profile of that scan. I've been able to get the scan to work using a linear open scan but any time I try to pull up the profile it measures 0.0000 no matter what I set for the parameters. I've tried using the scan to construct a feature set and then pull up the profile of the feature set as well, and get the same result. Below is the profile I'm trying to measure. Any help is appreciated.

Polygon.JPG

If you don't have cad, you have to calculate the theo values.
    Using a linear open scan as a unknown scan just read the actual profile, and compare values to itself, so it gives zero.

Comment

I do have CAD.

Comment

Post a picture of the 1st prompt for your scan settings.

NULL FILTER?
        CAD COMP ON?
        PROBE COMP ON?
        DEFINED?
        CAD TOLERANCE?
        SELECT CAD SURFACES?
        CAD VECTORS CORRECT?
        # OF POINTS PER MM?
        PATH DEFINITION?
        VECTORS?
        GENERATE?

There's a lot more to a scan than trying to break down the tiny bit of information you provided.
        Jesse Krook

Comment

I scan polygons like this as well. Linear open scan, select CAD, pick points, level if necessary, RELEARN, FIND NOMINALS, CAD COMP ON, PROBE COMP ON, Set parameters (# of points etc) generate path!
          Maybe you are using MASTER or NOMINALS?? Second run would give you comparable data, first set used as nominals.
          sigpicTAU ALPHA PI INDIANA DELTA CHAPTER