Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Four Related Questions

Hi guys... New company, new issues...

I started a new company on Monday, where there have been some really questionable things done around the CMM. The company IT didn't want to set the computer that came with the system on the network, and maintain security, and from what I have been told, the last programmer wiped a lot off of the hard drive. Any way... to my issue...

I have never worked with a scanning head CMM before, so this is a new puppy for me.

Looking at the way the master probe has been built, they have the Leitz_LSPX1H_T (Red arrow in the attachment below). The actual probe on the machine is a Hexagon probe (HP-S-x1H). Slot 1 Probe Setup Marked.png

First Question: Are these probes interchangeable in the build? The Hexagon probe number is not listed in the build menu, so I was unable to replicate the probe as a master probe.
    Second question: Is the part shown in the build beside the blue arrow the arbor for this head? Again, I am unfamiliar with scanning-head systems, so that is why I am asking.

Next, the head crashes every time that I go to auto-change probes, the spike at the back of the port hits the arbor on the way in and causes an overload fault. it basically says that it had an over deflection. looking closer, the spike hits the arbor below the hole. I homed the machine. I calibrated the probe to the qualification sphere, and then performed a rack calibration, using the master probe with only a 5x20 stylus on the arbor. Everything seemed to look good. Then I assigned the probes to their slots. When I went to change probes, it hit again. After it hits, the controller will not talk to the computer again until I cut both the machine and the computer off, and restart them both, causing it to home again. Waiting for Response.PNGThis message shows up in the bottom corner of the screen.

Third question: Am I doing something wrong?