Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Machine stops randomly in the middle of program

Hello,

I am a bit new to the CMM world and PCDMIS, so please bear with me. Ever since our IT dept upgraded our PC (Oct 2019) that runs the CMM, we have been having issues with certain programs and even a tip calibration that stop pretty randomly during execution. They don't always stop in the same spots, and sometimes stop more during one run than another. I have found that if I press the stop button then press execute again it will resume the program, but it is fairly tedious to have to sit in front of the machine and babysit it. It seems to only happen to some programs using a particular probe set up and angles. Has anyone run into an issue similar to this? I need some help to figure out the cause and how to fix it.

Thank you

What probe and force module are you using?
    Maybe your probe is too heavy for your force module?

Also if you haven't cleaned your scales for a while maybe it is stopping from dirty scales?

Comment

• Nuketon12
      Nuketon12 commented
      Editing a comment
      It is using a 4mm tip and 50mm shank. The force module is a Renishaw TP20 ext force (orange/reddish band) We use this same tip setup for many other programs with no issue. The difference with this program is the angles used are A45 B90 and A45 B-90. I do however have another program that uses this same probe setup and angles without issue. I don't think the problem is that it's too heavy, we haven't changed the probe set up and this program has run perfectly for years. I clean the scales with Isopropyl alcohol weekly, so I don't think dirty scales are the issue either.

Try slowing your move speed down in the program when you are using these angles as a workaround ? Your module is probably shot and needs replacing.

Comment

• Nuketon12
      Nuketon12 commented
      Editing a comment