New alignment changed the nominals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New alignment changed the nominals

Everything was going good until I added the second alignment near the end of the program. I tried adding the true position for Datum B to the report and it said that it was +250 in Y, so it was using the 2nd alignment for B, even though B is the base alignment. Any suggestions? Remember, I'm new to PC DMIS.
    Attached Files

PC-DMIS will locate features from the active alignment or the DRF, depending on how you have it set up. Did you come from Calypso? Because Calypso uses “Base Alignment” and I feel that you are looking for that behavior.

Are you using Legacy or Xact? What is the DRF that you are dimensioned to? Also, in your second alignment, if the DRF is [A|B|D], then B will still constrain translation in Y due to the order of precedence (can/may/must rule).

Comment

• JacobCheverie
      JacobCheverie commented
      Editing a comment
      Josh Seiden

DRF is your Datum Reference Frame. This is your datum structure (up to three datum feature references applied RMB, LMB, or MMB) at the end of your positional tolerance.
      Legacy is the older PC-DMIS dimensioning style. You can activate it by navigating to INSERT - DIMENSION - USE LEGACY DIMENSIONS.
      XactMeasure is the newer (although it is being replaced by the Geometric Tolerance command in 2020R2) dimensioning style. These two attempt to fully adhere to the GD&T standard that your print is drawn to, whether that's ASME Y14.5 or ISO 1101.

There are users that prefer Legacy over Xact and vice versa.