Profile of a surface without a datum reference.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Profile of a surface without a datum reference.

I apologize in advance if this has already been covered, I was unable to find an answer. I have very little experience with profile dimensions.

I have a drawing that calls out the profile of a surface 0.8 . The surface just happens to be datum A but there are no datums called out in the FCF. My understanding is that this would mean it is a form only callout and that the tolerance should be in the positive only. The customer i am dealing with is checking the profile as ± 0.4.

The last time that i had to deal with profiles i had found information that stated F&L profiles split the tolerance + and - and that a form only profile was just + unless stated as unilateral. I printed this out to keep on hand for future reference, but stupid me did not note where i found the information.

Am i correct in my understanding that it would be a positive only tolerance?
    Last edited by bbennett; 08-07-2020, 09:57 AM.

Think of it like flatness, no particular place it has to be, doesn't relate to anything else but itself, so the hits taken is will create a zero, but calling it out to itself, the Max and Min will be equally split highest and lowest because nothing to control location, orientation, it controls itself.

Capture.JPG
    Last edited by KIRBSTER269; 08-07-2020, 11:33 AM.
    (In Memory of my Loving wife, "Ronda" who I lost March 7, 2016. I love you baby.)
    They say "Nobody's Perfect." I must be Nobody.

Comment

• KIRBSTER269
      KIRBSTER269 commented
      Editing a comment