Serial number as filename?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Serial number as filename?

Im new to pcdmis. I searched the forums but couldnt find the answer so i apologize in advance for such a noob question.

I want to set up a program to automatically save the report to a specified directory using the serial number the operator entered for the filename.

basic example,
    if the operator entered serial number 12345 i want the file to go to
    c:\results\12345.rtf

thanks in advance for any help

The simplest way to do it...At the end of your program go Insert - Report Command - Print Command. Then place your cursor in the command and hit F9. Select "to file", select "Prompt", click on the little browse button next to the file name (it works even if the file name is greyed out). Navigate to the folder where you want to go and enter "type serial number here" for the file name. Click "Save", click "OK", mark the command for execution.

Now when the program is done it will pop up a window for your operator to save the report. If you make the program read-only, whenever it pops up it will have "type the serial number here" in the file name box. They just need to change that to the serial number and click save.

If your serial numbers are sequential (1,2,3,4,etc) you can play with having it auto index (use the same command and select the appropriate box) and it will add 1 each time it saves and your operator doesn't have to do anything. If you go this route though you can't make your program read-only.

I guess it boils down to if you can trust your operator(s) to enter the serial number and click save.

Comment

I made a small .BAT file:

Code:
      DEL SERIAL*.PDF
      COPY *.PDF SERIAL.PDF
      It first deletes all "old" PDF file of the type serial. Then it copies the REPORT file to the name SERIAL.PDF.

If you want to use the serial number as the file name, you will have to create a SCRIPT if you want to do this automatically.

Jan.