Write-to-file issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Write-to-file issue

I'm encountering an error when trying to write into a CSV file I created. The csv file exists and the path is correct, but the prompt is behaving like it can't open.
    In the snippet of code, S is the part number and there are multiple parts being measured in a loop.
    cap1.JPG
    cap2.JPG

This is my first time trying to do anything like this in PC-DMIS so it might just be something simple that's going right over my head.
    Attached Files

I think it won't like that space in the path name.

Either that or you need double backslash

C:\\csv test\\test.csv
    Automettech - Automated Metrology Technology

Comment

you need to add " before C:\ and after the .CSV.

See if that helps.

Comment

I don't think it likes the backslash being the final character in the string.

Comment

Originally posted by ajlee7 View Post
          I'm encountering an error when trying to write into a CSV file I created. The csv file exists and the path is correct, but the prompt is behaving like it can't open.
          In the snippet of code, S is the part number and there are multiple parts being measured in a loop.
          cap1.JPG
          cap2.JPG

This is my first time trying to do anything like this in PC-DMIS so it might just be something simple that's going right over my head.
          This line needs to be wrapped in quotes (" ") like this >> "c:\csv test\TEST.CSV"
          PcDmis 2015.1 SP10 CAD++
          Global 7-10-7 DC800S

Comment

• Kp61dude!
            Kp61dude! commented
            Editing a comment
            Just realized that's what acgarcia meant...

I always had to combine the variables so that only one was in the writeline code

Something like :

Code:
          ASSIGN/V2=CIR2.DIA+" , "+S
          FILE/WRITELINE,FPTR,V2
          or an array
          Code:
          ASSIGN/V2=ARRAY(CIR2.DIA, S)
          FILE/WRITELINE,FPTR,V2