Random Points added

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Random Points added

So I am fairly new to the CMM world. I have been with this company for almost 1.5 years and have been getting my hands on the CMM, programming and setting the machine up. I have been thru the PC-DMIS introduction class and can do some basic programming and editing. Please bear with me while i try and explain this. Also on a side note, the initial operator who programmed this part, is no longer working here, so I cannot ask him. So here is my description of the issue at hand.

The program we are using and have been using for many runs has been adding in random vector points whenever it is making an "AIR HIT" most common when we are changing the probe out to use a 5-tip star probe. If we have the Probe enable button turned off on the control pendant, we do not have this issue. (i know - problem solved - just leave this turned off.If we leave this turned off then we cannot calibrate the probe to the master sphere. Plus operators forget to disable probe while changing out probes.) This is the only program we have this issue on. So after a little investigation, from what i can see we are using a READPOINT command to initially hover over our starting point and then it goes into DCC and aligns the part and works just fine. I tried to eliminate this and just use the manual hits of the planes and circle but we are still having it create random points if we bump the head or if we have air hits.

I am thinking that we either have some kind of parameter set or the READPOINT command that i initially thought was the issue is not the cause. I am almost to the point of creating a completely new program the way we do all of our other parts, but there is a lot going on with this part that I don't feel comfortable trying to program. Thought it would be best to just modify original program first.

Has anyone else had this issue?