how to measure a slot hole

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how to measure a slot hole

I have some experience with coding my CMM, but recently I have been asked to determine the true position of a slot hole. Partially the drawing is calling out the TP for the front half of the slot hole but not the entire slot hole. I am trying to constrain the entire slot hole based on true position of 0.5. Previously we just measured the entire slot hole and created a center point but it was not accurate and gave random data. Currently I am simply measuring the front of the circle but I would like to control the entire slot hole. Pictures for reference. If there is anyway to assist me, please help me.
    Attached Files

Create a "Generic circle" with the width and the mid point to report 0.5 TP at MMC.
    Last edited by Roberto; 11-08-2019, 04:20 PM.
    sigpicIt's corona time!
    737 Xcel Cad++ v2009MR1....SE HABLA ESPAÑOL

Comment

Originally posted by szvincent010 View Post
      I would like to control the entire slot hole.
      Do you have a scanning probe ?
      I would try constructing the slot from the entire surface, then dimension the center.

Comment

I don't think that callout is controlling one end of the slot, but the entire width of the slot. If you are using POSITION, you should be able to just use a single axis in the position dimension and all it will report is the deviation in that axis. DO NOT USE PERP TO C/L in the position dimension or it will use both directions.
        sigpic
        Originally posted by AndersI
        I've got one from September 2006 (bug ticket) which has finally been fixed in 2013.

Comment

• VinniUSMC
          VinniUSMC commented
          Editing a comment