Midplane Between Two Radii

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Midplane Between Two Radii

If this was your primary datum, how would you replicate it in PC-DMIS? My only thought would be to do an iterative alignment on one side only...but that would throw everything out of location based on the width of the part. Could I do a best-fit alignment incorporating each side (I've never done one before)?

asdf.PNG

Do you have scanning capabilities, or just a touchprobe? I you have scanning, I would construct a scan on one side, covering as much of the surface as possible. then, I'd copy/paste with pattern-> flip Y that same scan to the opposing side.
    -From there, you could do several things. you could simply try to construct a midplane from the two scans, (my guess is this won't help much), but you'd have to define the hits of each scan to do it correctly.
    construct -> plane -> midplane -> SCN1 & SCN2. then within the constructed feature you'd add .hit[1..SCN1.numhits], to end of SCN1, and the same for SCN2.

If that fails I'd construct a handful of theoretical planes sectioning part along X. I'd then construct intersect lines for each plane, and construct mid-lines for each set of intersects. and finally stitch the line data into a constructed plane.

For the implied origin that this inverted torus can imply, I'd construct a single cast point of the two scans.

Comment

I would call the designer to explain him what is a cmm measurement, and how bad is his definition !

Comment

• Lukas
        Lukas commented
        Editing a comment
        Hahaha it is that it's an op sheet drawn by our internal engineer. The customer drawing uses a different datum that isn't machined yet. Tomorrow is my last day so it won't be my problem anymore, but I thought I'd ask if this is possible to program.

• JEFMAN
        JEFMAN commented
        Editing a comment