Measuring Bore diameters

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Measuring Bore diameters

I looking for a little help understanding what I'm doing wrong. I am trying to measure the diameter of a bore manually. Whenever I measure it, whether it be a circle with 4 hits or a cylinder with 8 hits, it measures about .001-.0015 big. This happens if the part is aligned or not. I am fairly new to this and could use some enlightenment. I have also tried different probe tips and thermal compensation. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Patrick

What is the difference measured too? Calipers/Gage Pin? It could be your vectors, could be calibration, movement of the part when measuring, circularity. Its hard to pin point without more information.
    Are you using least square or MAX inscribed? I would check your circularity and check the bore as MAX Inscribed if you are comparing results to a pin.

Comment

I am measuring a calibrated ring gauge to verify diameters as this seems to be a problem when comparing to bore gauges. CMM and ring gauge were calibrated less than a month ago and it is measuring least square. The part is being held to the table with a magnetic v-block as well.

Comment

So many things here.... Are you trying to measure the ring gauge and trying to get the same size as the calibrated reported size ? Basicaly duplicating the measurement ? Manual CMM or DCC ?

Comment

yes, trying to duplicate the stated size on the ring gauge, manual cmm

Comment

good luck doing that with a manual machine. TOUCHSPEED is going to be the biggest issue you have. ALL hits for the probe calibration must be at the same speed and all hits for the measurement must be at the same speed as the calibration hits. Going to be pretty hard to do that to match the accuracy of a certified ring gage.