Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finally figured out Read Points...

Yay Me!

For those of you that have been fortunate enough to not have notice my posts, I'm completely Self-Taught, and I'm running a Global Performance 12-15-10 with 2018 R2, a B&S 10-12-10 with the same system, and an old Sheffield Discovery D12 with 2017 R1.

The main problem I have is not knowing what I don't know, so the purpose of this, I suppose, is to throw out there what I figured out (finally) today, and hopefully spare somebody else the embarrassment of asking what I never got around to...

As with every program I write (no CAD. Strictly touching off the part and correcting the program to reflect the print) I insert a Report Command, Comment to instruct the operator how to load the part on the CMM surface plate. We've got stops screwed into the table, and often use them, and sometimes we take manual hits to get an initial alignment (only to realign when we have more precise data). That's all well and good, but I've been wanting to figure out Read Points for a while. Give me a rough orientation on the table, move the ruby to a specific point in relation to a feature on the part, and pull the trigger. Here's what I've figured out: