Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Measurement of a Diameter on Cylinder

6416EA13-09C7-4619-9181-A30D5A25D771.png
    Hello so I’m really new to PC-Dmis. I have been working with some pieces but I’ve recently been asked to measure a diameter on a cylinder. But I have some doubts on how to approach this. I have attached a “drawing” I’ve made on my phone’s Notes app for “privacy” reasons hehe. On the picture, I want to measure the diameter of the blue circle.

My questions:
    1. Do I need to align the part? If so, how do I do that? I’ve only worked with 3-2-1 alignments but I’m not sure if this would be ok with a cylinder since there is not a place where to place a line.
    2. If the 3-2-1 alignment is not the answer, how would I align it?
    3. Do I even need to align it? Or can I simply go straight to touch some points of the feature I want to measure and then measure the diameter on the software?

I have tried to measure it with a caliper but there’s too much variation.
    Thank you, I hope you can help me.
    Attached Files

Very nice drawing !
    I would say alignment is not necessary here, but if you're new to cmm, make it a habit to do it !
    A cmm is not a calper that do "beeps".
    The quickest way to do it is measuring a cylinder with a lot of hits, measuring the cut plane with somme hits, and create a circle at the intersection of both features.
    Take care to dimension the cylindricity, it could explain variations with the caliper.

Then, another solution could be (which allows learning about alignments) :
    In manual mode :
    Measuring a cylinder, level Z on it and origin xy on it
    Measuring the plane // to the cylinder axis, and rotate X on it
    Measuring the cut plane and origin Z on it.
    Re-do it with more hits for each feature in dcc mode, then create the circle by the intersection.

Comment

Originally posted by JEFMAN View Post