True Position Datums

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• True Position Datums

I have little to no experience using true position. The concept I need to grasp is this. Does the part alignment datums have to be the same as the datums specified in the feature control frame or can these be defined in the dimensioning window. I have a print with several true position callouts using different datums. Must I do a new part alignment to each call out prior to creating the dimension?
    Also can I do a true position of a feature set?
    Thanks to all
    ["Paper is poverty,... it is only the ghost of money, and not money itself." --Thomas Jefferson ][/SIGPIC]

Originally posted by Bob Pierce View Post
    I have little to no experience using true position. The concept I need to grasp is this. Does the part alignment datums have to be the same as the datums specified in the feature control frame or can these be defined in the dimensioning window. I have a print with several true position callouts using different datums. Must I do a new part alignment to each call out prior to creating the dimension?
    Also can I do a true position of a feature set?
    Thanks to all
    You DON'T have to make an alignment for each different FCF, you can do that with datums in the TP dimension window. HOWEVER, I would do so because Pcdmis WILL shift the part around as if it were sitting on a hard gage to get you the best possible deviaiton values for the feature you are dimensioning. This can give you perfect zero deviations and we all know that no one understands HOW your part can check perfect, time after time after time. By making alignments to match the FCF, then all you need to is dimension the TP and it will show you actual deviations. Also, you MAY want to use PERP TO CENTER LINE when doing TP, this will eliminate the surface deviation. AND, you SHOULD take at least 1 surface sample to control your depth of touches for the hole you are measuring.
    sigpic