Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• True position

Hi guys,

I am a rookie with pc-dmis so my "problem" will probably seem ridiculous. I don’t get this true position. I have measured that .437 boss, thread hole, and both lines. I don't understand how machine is doing the math so I am not sure if I am dimensioning this right. I don’t know if it is taking center point of a line for dimensioning because in that case it would depend on first and last point I took when I measured that feature. I am babbling... Anyways, I attached the drawing, so any help on this is more than welcome!

Thanks!
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Grobar; 04-13-2006, 12:05 PM.

Create a cylinder on the .437 dia boss and align to that cylinder then set zero in both directions to the cylinder. Compare the threaded hole to this alignment as true position (t/p), your theoreticals should be .000 - .000 for the c/l of the threaded hole and your tolerance for the t/p should be .010 at RFS. Think of it as rotating the boss with an indicator on the minor dia of the thread, you are actually measuring runout or T.I.R. from one feature to another. Oh yeah..... just to through in another little twist t/p of a thread is ALWAYS measured to the pitch cylinder, not the major or minor dia ( unless otherwise specified on the drawing ). Have fun.
    sigpic Eye Yam Sofa King We Todd It.

Comment

check out this site for a True position calculator.

http://www.engineersedge.com/true_position.htm

Your print is hard to read. But it appears you can translate your origin (alignment) to the measured .437 boss and report the 1/4-20 diameters on both sides of your part. Use your true position for dimensioning. Nominals would be X=0, Y=0 (depands on your working plane). Should calculate it for you.
      You may wish to obtain a book on Geometric Dimensioning and Tolerancing (GD&T).

Good Luck and welcome to the school of Hard Knocks

BS
      Windows 7
      Pc-Dmis 2015