Scanning for dummies

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scanning for dummies

I'm very new to PC-DMIS and am trying to scan a relatively simple profile (view attached). I have a HP-S-X1h scanning probe and am running 2015.1.

I think I want to use a linear closed scan? Can anybody break down step-by-step the best way to approach doing this? When I try to insert one, it does not go all the way around the part, and is building a path for a touch trigger scan. It will scan auto-features fine though.

Thank you all very much,
    Robert
    Last edited by rrowsam; 07-14-2017, 05:29 PM.

1) make sure you're aligned to the datum scheme that is controlling the profile
    2) i would use linear open scan
    3) once aligned, go to insert/scan/linear open
    4) click on the tab that says "graphics". tick the box that says "SELECT", then click "DESELECT ALL", then physically click all of the surfaces on your model that you want to scan.
    4) once you're happy with your selested surfaces, click the tab that says "PATH DEFINITION". Now that you're in this tab with your highlighted surfaces still displayed, click three times on your model. Your first click will be your scan beginning point, the second click will indicate the direction your scan will go in, and your final click will be your scan's end point. but you're not done yet.
    5) now that you have the three scan points roughly where you want them by eye, go to where it says boundary points and edit the nominals as you see fit. If the picture you're showing us is facing the Z+ and you're trying to scan around the outside profile of that part, then you would want to edit your Z value to ensure all of your scan is going around at one level and not being applied lop-sided.
    6) Once you're happy with that, play around with the max and min incriment values to suit yours needs