Manual Alignment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Manual Alignment

hi, all . Im a beginner to cmm using v4.1 so i will probably be asking a lot of basic questions for a while.
    We check a lot of batches of parts mostly cyclindrical parts with milled profiles etc.
    we put each part on table and do a manual alignment and then run program to check part. Usually plane ,line , point alignment. Does in matter which direction we go when doing manual alignment for plane and line etc .Or when doing any feature . Can anyone give me any info on how pcdmis is reading features during manual alignment.

many thanks in advance

Lines will require you to measure them in the same direction, every time, especially for alignment features. When you rotate, lets say, the XPLUS axis to a line, then the XPLUS axis will point in the same direction as the line does, and the line will point frmo the first hit to the last hit. So, if you measure it left-to-right the first time, the right-to-left the second time, it will completly change the alignment by 180 degrees.
    sigpic
    Originally posted by AndersI
    I've got one from September 2006 (bug ticket) which has finally been fixed in 2013.

Comment

Like Matt said you can get hosed when a guy measures in the wrong direction on a line. My favorite for manual alignments is simply a readpoint then go DCC and find the part. If you must/want to do manual alignment with features then you can monkey proof it:

Code:
                  COMMENT/OPER,"WHEN MEASURING THE FACE HITS MUST BE TAKEN FROM LEFT TO RIGHT"
      REDO_LN1   =LABEL/
      LN1        =FEAT/LINE,RECT,UNBND
                  THEO/-2,-2.9,-13,1,0,0
                  ACTL/-1.7177,-2.8972,-13.0506,0.9999975,-0.0022291,0
                  MEAS/LINE,3,WORKPLANE
                  HIT/BASIC,-2,-2.9,-13,0,-1,0,-2.0002,-2.9,-13
                  HIT/BASIC,-1,-2.9,-13,0,-1,0,-1.0002,-2.9,-13
                  HIT/BASIC,0,-2.9,-13,0,-1,0,-0.0002,-2.9,-13