distance between a line and circle

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• distance between a line and circle

When dimensioning the distance between a line and a circle I am getting 2 different answers. If I do line to circle it is 6.2 mm longer than if I do circle to line. When I first programmed it I did line to circle and the dimension was out of tolerance so I went to engineering thinking I had a bad cad file. They checked out the cad file and said it was good so I started playing around with my program, trying different things when I came across this situation. Why would it matter what feature I choose first if everything else is the same??? Has anyone else seen this before?

can you post a screen dump of your graphics display window?
    Kevin

Comment

When you do LINE to CIRCLE, it uses the CENTER point of the line to the center point of the circle, when you do CIRCLE to LINE, it does the shortest distance, circle, perp to line, not to line center.
      sigpic
      Originally posted by AndersI
      I've got one from September 2006 (bug ticket) which has finally been fixed in 2013.

Comment

Are you checking them to a axis or to one another?

Comment

I tried several things. I rotated to the line and set the 0,0 in the circle, and still get 2 different answers. I did a distance between the 2 and also did location of line. Location was good and so was distance if I did circle first.
          My opinion is they should calculate them the same no matter what order you use.

Comment

Originally posted by Carolyn McKean View Post
            I tried several things. I rotated to the line and set the 0,0 in the circle, and still get 2 different answers. I did a distance between the 2 and also did location of line. Location was good and so was distance if I did circle first.
            My opinion is they should calculate them the same no matter what order you use.