Importing CATIA V5

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Importing CATIA V5

Hi everyone, I'm glad you are here. I'm a new user who need to import Catia files to my pcdmis v41 but the icon under import is greyed out unable to click it. I can convert to iges and do that succesfully but I seem to have some data loss. Is this an option I need to purchase or a default setting somewhere?
    I am a complete newbie to this but I programe lasers with catia-cenit software so I can usually find my way around settings but this time I am stumped. I guess this is why the SMA is so much $$. Any help would be appreciated.--Bob Boucher
    B&S Oryzo
    PH10 TP20
    3.7MR3

Newbie,

You'll be able to import iges & step files. My understanding is that to import Catia, you'll need to purchase a "seat" to do so.

ZydecoPete
    sigpic

Comment

You need the Catia DCT, in order to translate directly from a Catia file into PCDMIS. This options runs about $4,500 per seat.

If you happen to be lucky enough to have a free Catia v5 seat avaliable you could purchase the DCI upgrade for PCDMIS which then you could work directly off the native model for $5,500.

Anyone out there with a DCT willing to translate Catia v4/v5 or UG files for beer money? I got some I would like to do too but Im not 100% sure I can justify the cost for my own DCT.

Thanks
      Mr. Comment
      SCIROCCO-NT 13-20-10
      B3C-LC Controller (Leitz Protocol), SP600M, TP200
      PCDMIS CAD++ v4.3 MR1(Build: 12/11/08)
      sigpic

Comment

We bought the software used from ... I thought they had the seat. there was reference to it in the paperwork, I get an error msg that mentions the lock which is the port lock I presume, geuss I will just have to clean up my files before converting to iges because that is a chunk of change for a new shop.
        B&S Oryzo
        PH10 TP20
        3.7MR3

Comment