Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to CMM

Hi gurus'
    My company just purchased a Starrett RGDC 4040-24 with a PH10 head and TP200 probe. Upgraded the Apogee software to PC-DMIS 4.1.

I have no experience with inspection or operating a CMM. I am a CNC programmer and now am responsible for programming the CMM. I have taken the basic class 3 weeks ago. Was suppose to have the CMM and PC-DMIS up a week after my training but the tech got delayed until late last week. Now I am trying to remebember the whole class.

So far I am doing okay but ran into some questions that has me stumped.

1. When you create a feature that you are going to measure do you have to dimension in that workplane or can I wait until I am done writing the whole program and create the dimensions at the end?

2. What kind of fixturing should I get for general machined parts and casting?
    example: flat plate with screw holes for clamps, angled plates, 2 sided tape

3. On parts that have angles and I rotated the probe normal to the face of the angle and create a plane off of the face. Do I need to set the workplane to the created plane before creating a feature like a hole that is on the angle? Or do I just leave it in the ZPLUS workplane. Also my machine does not have that feature where the probe can move parrallel to the rotation of the probe. Is there any special trick on probe technique for those weird angles? Or do I need to practice more?

4. Can somebody explain to me why you would use iterative alignment versus 3-2-1 alignment? Is it only use when the datums are not straight edges.

I downloaded the pdf that jamesmannes had on another thread about helping out people who are new to PC-DMIS.

I am learning a lot more than I learn in the basic class just reading in these forums and searching the archives.

Thanks for all the help so far.
    Starrett 4040-24
    Renishaw PH10M head
    Renishaw TP200
    PC-DMIS CAD++ 4.2!!! crashed my probe into the table