Math Failed Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Math Failed Question

Hi everyone, I am new to this board and PD-DMIS. I need some help please. I have been using a PC-DMIS for several months. In the past I have routinely created a line from to constructed points, but now for some reason I get math failed: Combination of input features not supported. Have I shut some setting off??? I measured a part yesterday and could not construct the line, I re-measured the part today and could not construct the line, and then I measured a different part and still have the same problem. The program will let me construct a line between to hit points, but not constructed points.

What are the nominals of the points? Do they share a coordinate? If so you may be in the wrong workplane to do a 2D line.
    <internet bumper sticker goes here>

Comment

Welcome Durose. Creation of lines is very dependant on workplanes. If you need to create a line using the x and y coordinates then you need to be in the Z workplane.
      http://www.box.net/public/static/uz5zvfb5gi.jpg
      sigpic

James Mannes

Comment

I have two points using two circles and the same plane. I can not construct a 2D or a 3D line between them.

Comment

I am using the Zplus workplane but the problem still remains.

Comment

What are the coordinates of these points (nominal and actual)? Some code would be good. The only way I can see a 3D line failing is if they have the same coordinates.

Comment

If your probe orientation is A0,B0 then you will need to look at it in Y -or+ worlplane
              or X -or+ workplane and then construct the line. I hope this makes sense
              sigpic.....Its called golf because all the other 4 letter words were taken

Comment

Originally posted by bw_bob View Post
                If your probe orientation is A0,B0 then you will need to look at it in Y -or+ worlplane
                or X -or+ workplane and then construct the line. I hope this makes sense