Flipping a Program

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flipping a Program

Not sure whether or not this has been addressed in the past or not... but here goes...

I am a sheetmetal programmer and I have a program that checks a part on a check fixture in the X+ direction. I have another check fixture that loads the part in the X- direction and I would like to be able to "flip" my program to check the other side of metal on this check fixture.

Is there a way to accomplish this in a speedy manor barring going in on each individual feature measured and "flipping vectors? I don't mind editing the moves and tip angles individually but editing all of the features measured will be quite a daunting task.

Can anyone help a poor slub out???

Thanks in advance...

Greg

Did you try to mirror the program
    sigpic
    if you had soap on a rope it would be tied to yer ankle

Comment

Duh!

I'm so use to mirroring the program in the "Y" axis that it never occured to me that I can do the same in the "X" direction.

Good God! Somebody shoot me please!!!

Comment

I may be wrong here, but a mirrored program here will have the points on the wrong side of material won't it? Won't you need to repick EVERY point to get to the other side of material?

Bill

Comment

I should be able to remove my theoretical metal thickness and that should solve the metal issue.

Comment

Mirroring won't work, unless it is a flat piece of metal with the X NOM for all points at zero. You will have to go, one at a time, and flip the vector and remove (or add) the metal thickness.
            sigpic
            Originally posted by AndersI
            I've got one from September 2006 (bug ticket) which has finally been fixed in 2013.

Comment

Matt,

I guessing you have tried this in the past... Not good news for me if it's true!!! My part is symetrical about the centerline but it is in no way flat. Because it is symetrical, will this help?

Comment

Morroring