Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings All!

Greetings All!
    I'm a new member to the Forum, though I have been visiting the site for about 3 months. I am in awe of the expertise offered, (and much enjoy the highlighted humor as well)!
    My situation:
    Currently working with an older machine, B&S PFx 454, PC-DMIS 2.3073 - no CAD, PH8. The calibration tech from the outfit where we purchased the machine installed PC-DMIS 3.2063 - still no CAD - the last time he was here for cal. Problem is, I've been trying to copy programs from the old version to the new, (with little effort in the beginning other than re-establishing the probe files), but noticed this week that the probe calibration using 3.2 is no longer working correctly - it is reporting the qualified diameters for any probe I try to calibrate as a negative diameter or way off - not just 1/2 the probe size or anything semi-logical. Could the software be compromised, or has anyone dealt with issues like this when in "conversion mode"? Another indicator, (on the side of the computer, there is large handwritten lettering reading, "DO NOT UPGRADE OPERATING SYSTEM". Windows NT seems to work fine - but it does foreshadow some type of past problem.
    Our shop has seen a decrease in orders in the last year and a half, so my wish list of a new computer with 4.1 and CAD, and a wrist probe will most likely not be fulfilled in the forseeable future.
    Any suggestions - albeit a new job - will be greatly appreciated. I am tempted to just go back to 2.3 and suffer through, although there are some options in 3.2 which would be helpful to me, (pitch option for automatic circles for threads being one).
    Thanks in advance !!
    Sharon

Originally posted by sfair View Post
    - it is reporting the qualified diameters for any probe I try to calibrate as a negative diameter or way off - not just 1/2 the probe size or anything semi-logical.