Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Programming Offline For The First Time

Wise Ones...

I am a new programmer who is basically learning as I go. I have operated CMM's and now I am programming them. My compnay has sent me to the first two courses of PC-DMIS, and all is well thus far for programming on-line. However, I have a new part that will be coming into production and only have the model of it. I would like to get a jump on the part and begin writing the program offline, but haven't done it in the past. Do you recommend attending a Brown and Sharpe formal training course or just attempting to go for it with the text written in the reference manual for PC-DMIS?

You thoughts and guidance are much appreciated.

After this, I think it will be beer time.

Do it the same way as you would ON-LINE. If nothing else, you can get all the check point created and dimensioned before you get a part, then it is simply a matter of editing around clamps etc.
    sigpic
    Originally posted by AndersI
    I've got one from September 2006 (bug ticket) which has finally been fixed in 2013.

Comment

Off line programming is the same as on line. You said you can do it on line. Should be no problem.
      sigpic.....Its called golf because all the other 4 letter words were taken

Comment

Also watch feature vectors - can cause major collision during execution...
        Execute offline first and watch probe path.
        PC-DMIS CAD++ 3.7 from 4.2 MR1

Comment

You are all saying "offline is the same as online". Well, I'm going to ask... by online do you mean you are just using learned features on an actual part, or are you online and programming with a cad model and the part is there so you can put in move points and make sure your features are in the right spot etc.

Comment