Off-line programming

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Off-line programming

Is it easier to program offline? My employer wants me to do offline so that the off shifts can simply run the inspection program. I'm new to offline, I've used Romer in the past.

Sent from my VK810 4G using Tapatalk

Originally posted by Darroll View Post
    Is it easier to program offline? My employer wants me to do offline so that the off shifts can simply run the inspection program. I'm new to offline, I've used Romer in the past.

Do you program with Cad files?
    3.7mr3CAD++ / 2011mr1CAD++/2012mr1CAD++/QUINDOS7

Comment

Yes

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

Comment

Yes

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
        Offline / Online would be much the same then. Only programming offline you would have to plan ahead a lot more carefully as your obviously not seeing the CMM move as you program, but there are tools to show path lines and simulation. As your boss is saying it is a good tool to free up the CMM to measure parts, rather than to program online with, but it takes a bit of getting used to at first, I would try to do a couple of simple jobs first, then prove those out on the CMM, just to find your feet. Offline programs usually always will need some proving time on a CMM. HTH.
        3.7mr3CAD++ / 2011mr1CAD++/2012mr1CAD++/QUINDOS7

Comment

I do not find it easier or harder either way.

If you program off-line, you have to run the program to be sure you didn't make a mistake programming. When there is a crash or bad data, you spend time to figure out what went wrong and fix it. Since you are not in the mental space you were in when you programmed THAT feature, this can take longer than if you were on-line when you goofed.

If you program on-line, you run as you create features, so you know if it is going to crash or not, but you have to wait for that to happen, where most of the time you don't screw up, so this is time you didn't have to spend.