Equate alignment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Equate alignment

I have never used equate alignment in a program before, but I have a part coming up that I have to measure in two halves and I was wanting to use it instead of having to have two programs. What is the best way to do this?
    DeWain Hodge

Good Luck with that !! I tried it once and never got it to work. I've read that you gotta probe the same features in the second alignment that you did in the first alignment. Honestly, this makes no sense to me. In my case, if I could probe the same features after flipping the part, there'd be no need to flip it in the first place...I've also read that in the second alignment you've gotta recall "startup" and not the previous alignment...Lemme know if you have any success, I'd like to know how to do it correctly myself....
    Sheffield Endeavor3 9.20.8, Tesastar-SM, Leitz LSP-X1s & LSP-X1M, PCDMIS 2011 MR1

Comment

You must end whit the alignment that you going to use after you move the part.. that's the key.
      so measure the part.... move the part .... measure the features for second alignment again (the on you ended whit) .......make second alignment..... Equate second alignment whit first alignment...done
      hope this make sense

Comment

Originally posted by DeWain Hodge View Post
        I have never used equate alignment in a program before, but I have a part coming up that I have to measure in two halves and I was wanting to use it instead of having to have two programs. What is the best way to do this?
        You have to have features near the center of the part that you can measure after moving the part that you can RELATE back to the original alignments origin (theoretical nominal values should suffice). It doesn't need to be your original alignment features.