Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tangent Line

OK Guys,

I don't know how to do this. I've never done it before - hold the jokes please.

I've created a 10inch diameter circle and now I need to create a line which is tangent to it and runs through a measured point which is not located on the circle.

Any suggestions? I hope this is easy...

Assuming X/Y Plane

Set origin on 10" diameter Circle.
    Align throught the point.
    Offset rotate the point (See other thread))) until it is 5" plus in Y axis
    Construct line at X/Y zero(center of circle) with 0,1,0 vector.
    Intersect line and circle, choose Plus Y point.
    Construct line through the original point and this new constructed point.

This line will be tangent to circle and go through your point
    Last edited by cmmguy; 10-17-2006, 04:22 PM.
    Links to my utilities for PCDMIS

Comment

Originally posted by cmmguy
      Assuming X/Y Plane

Set origin on 10" diameter Circle.
      Align throught the point.
      Offset rotate the point(there was a thread about this) until it is 5" plus in Y axis
      Construct line at X/Y zero(center of circle) with 0,1,0 vector.
      Intersect line and circle, choose Plus Y point.
      Construct line through the original point and this new constructed point.

This line will be tangent to circle and go through your point

Doh! Thanks didn't think of that. Brain not work to good today.

Comment

Now I know why I didn't do that...

I don't know the angle. I also only know the length of one side of the triangle so I can't do trig.

Can you elaborate on step 3 or point me toward the thread?

Comment

the rotation angle = Inverse Sin of (opposite side divided by the hypotenuse)
          or...
          the rotation angle = InvSin (5/Distance between circle and point)

So...
          In PCDMIS, I think the following is correct:
          After you have aligned the Circle and Point
          Using the Set an Alignment rotate the X/Y plane about Z