Measuring Diameters - argument ensues.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Measuring Diameters - argument ensues.

I have a question of all you masters...

I know some, if not most of you feel that a CMM is not good at measuring inside diameters. I have seen/read the reasons several times and I tend to agree.

What never seems to come up is the measurement of OUTside diameters. Is the CMM equally unreliable at measuring these?

What about the tip qualification procedure. That is measuring an OD is it not?

Please debate.

INSIDE or OUTSIDE, the same reason apply, especially if you are using a TP2, the lobbing is a HUGE issue. What I would do for an outside diameter measurement is calibrate 4 tips, lets say as 45,-180, 45,-90, 45,0 and 45,90.

Take 1 vector point hits on each of the 4 'sides' of the diameter, using the correct probe for the job. This will at least give you a true, good reading of the roundness, but maybe no of the diameter, unless you calibration routine for the tip was touching at the 45 degree point. You could also go to the A90, and then you would have a fairly accurate diameter result, since you will be touching on a part of the tip that does touch for the calibration AND that should not be affect by the lobbing of the TP2.
    sigpic
    Originally posted by AndersI
    I've got one from September 2006 (bug ticket) which has finally been fixed in 2013.

Comment

I feel ID or OD does not make a significant difference in the CMM's ability to measure. It is the D as in Diameter and the algorythems involved that are the limiting factor not whether it is internal or external. My Opinion Only.
      sigpic"Hated by Many, Loved by Few" _ A.B. - Stone brewery

Comment

CMM's CAN measure ID's and OD accurately. NO DOUBTS AT ALL.

HOWEVER....................