Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intersection problem with 2 lines

Hi,

I am new to PC-DMIS and I am having a problem with intersecting 2 lines. The first line is composed of points coming down a 40° angle and the second line needs to be a line on the part that is vertical and coming back up to the 40° line. I took points coming up in Z and created a line and then tried to intersect these lines. It acts as if it did, but the numbers just aren't right. I'm sure it is something really simple.

Are you in the correct work plane.

Comment

Are the vectors of the line going the same direction?
      Time for the Trolls to leave.

Comment

IF your 'back' is Y+, then the construction and dimensioning needs to be done in the X workplane (+ or -).
        sigpic
        Originally posted by AndersI
        I've got one from September 2006 (bug ticket) which has finally been fixed in 2013.

Comment

No they are not. The 40° line is using .766,0,.5 as my I,J,K and line 2 is 1,0,0.

Comment

Well, with the demon many things that seem simple aren't. It could be vectors. It could be a workplane issue. Your better bet, if you can, would be to measure one of the two features as a plane and then pierce the plane with a line. But if you are in the correct workplane, so the software can "see" both lines, and both lines are 2D lines and have the same value for one axis, (like both lines are 5.000 for x or y), then as long as the vector of one of the lines points to the other line it should work,(but you might have to change the order in which you select them), but if both vectors point away from each other it might not. It would be best if they pointed towards each other. A sketch always helps, as does info about which version of the software you are running. HTH
            sigpic"Hated by Many, Loved by Few" _ A.B. - Stone brewery

Comment

No they are not. The 40° line is using .766,0,.5 as my I,J,K and line 2 is 1,0,0.