Summary mode vs Command mode

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Summary mode vs Command mode

I have heard and read that some experienced programmers consider Summary mode to be pretty much useless and that a serious programmer would never use it.
    In other words, its a sort of "sissy" mode.

Au contraire mon fraire.

I have been programming with PC-DMIS for about 10 years now.
    I learned by doing. There was no one able (or maybe it is more like willing) to teach me.
    I was the new guy at the shop where I was working and was supposed to be some kind of hot-shot so the other inspectors were just waiting for me to fall on my face.
    I was expected to be the programmer.
    Not an operator, THE programmer. Heck, they had version 1.7 or something and virtually no programs anyway. The machine they had was used as a handy granite slab for big part lay-out.
    So, it was strictly OJT for me. I had never seen PCD. I had heard that it was the top of the line software, but most of my experience was with manual machines and a year or 2 with MM4 on DCC machines.

I started by convincing management to upgrade the software. So we soon had 3.5. There was no one to tell me that Summary mode was "sissy" mode.
    After a few months in came 3.6 and that was what I was trying to learn on.
    I was convinced that I was a useless monkey when it came to this software because it crashed on me several times an hour.
    After a few calls to support at B&S the word came out that I should revert back to 3.5 and use the 3.6 discs for skeet practice.

Now about Summary mode:
    It gives you a tree of features and commands with virtually no details. You can't see nominals, tolerances, actuals, vectors... really, not much of anything except a list of features, commands and settings.
    How can that be useful?