Die detail

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Die detail

Photo of die attached that I am being asked to provide data on. What's the best way of going about this ??? I have very little reverse eng experience and even less at working with dies. Help !!!

Dave
    Attached Files

I feel sorry for you, pal, I really do. Unless you have a scanning head on the CMM, you are in for a LOT of work. You will have to do a WHOLE LOT of liner-open scans and cover the entire area like a piece of woven cloth. Your best bet would be to turn off the probe comp and let your cad department offset the surface by your probe radius. This is because unless you use SURFACE points for the scan with 3 surface sample hits, you will ONLY EVER get 2-D probe comp, NOT 3-D while scanning. I would do the liner scans with a 0.5mm MAX increment and make them no more than 2mm apart. Then, when you post out the data, your cad department will still whine about the lack of data. What I just told you to do will probably take about 15 or 20 hours using any kind of a touch-trigger probe.

So, if you DO NOT have a scanning head, I would suggest you farm the job out.
    sigpic
    Originally posted by AndersI
    I've got one from September 2006 (bug ticket) which has finally been fixed in 2013.

Comment

I've done a lot of that here lately. I don't have a scanning head, so it's all points. Depending on how much information is required, you are going to have multiple programs. I always leave probe comp on, and yet to have much of a problem. Save the alignment, and do scans every .25 deep, .05 spacing, then, convert to points. After multiple programs (the size of the files will be HUGE), export the scans to an .igs file. Start a new program, and import all of the .igs files - you will have one big cluster of a cloud. Then, pass it onto engineering for their enjoyment.