list of probes used

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• list of probes used

Hi Guys, im not an inspector so please no avalanche of advice regarding bad practice and the like, im just learning at moment, i go off to training at end of month. The question i have is this, is there anywhere in pcdmis or the probe definition box to identify the probes used in the programme apart from opening up every probe change and seeing what tip is defined, my colleague who is trying to pick it up as he is going along is adamant the best idea is to set up a probe for every stylus we have and use the stylus dia and length as the description of the probe but given how many permutations of probes and extensions to probes my drop down list for probes could have thousands of probes, any advice from you regular cmm users as to what you find works best

Personally, I have a probe file for every job, and the probe name is the job number. Yeah, there are a lot of probe files that are the exact same build up, but I know that probe file xxx is for job/part xxx. And, when the job is done, the probe file is done as well. If you just use the build up and the name and then use it for multiple programs over and over and over and over then you end up with a TON of angles in the file with only a gew used for each part. Yes, you can click on MARKED USED to calibrated them for a job, BUT, if there are other angles not used, some rookie later might just try to use one that isn't calibrated in the program. Not only that, I don't ever have probe files go corrupt (I think I've had 1 in all my years of using Pcdmis) because they just aren't around long enough for that to happen.
    sigpic
    Originally posted by AndersI
    I've got one from September 2006 (bug ticket) which has finally been fixed in 2013.

Comment

Originally posted by armagao View Post