PC-DMIS - Self Center a hole then recall it to measure diameter and location

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PC-DMIS - Self Center a hole then recall it to measure diameter and location

I am new to PC-DMIS. I've been trained with Zeiss Calypso and a lot of stuff is different! I have a few holes in a part that I am trying to get the diamter and location. These holes float around quite a bit. I often cannot measure the holes because they are too far out from the CAD model. With Calypso, I would use a large probe, do a self center, then use a smaller probe and measure the hole by recalling the self center hole. Is there a way to do this with PC-DMIS? I looked in help, but the only way I can recall something is to recall an alignment.

Thanks for your help!

Originally posted by Matthew D. Hoedeman
    There are TWO ways, FIND HOLE and READ POS, both in the autofeature menu for circles.

FIND HOLE makes Pcdmis search for the hole, when it does NOT make contact with the part (in the hole) it will then measure the hole. This can take a LOT of time, I don't use it.

READ-POS pauses the program, allows you to place the probe over/in the hole, hit a button, then it measures at that location

BOTH methods should also use RE-MEAS which makes Pcdmis measure the hole a second time, using the first result as the 'target' for the second.
    Just to clarify, the find hole option will measure the hole at first with 3 points (USING THE CENTER FUNCTION) to zero on the hole and then measure the hole using whatever amount of points defined by the programmer. I use it to define my datums on machined parts along with 3 hits on the surface to establish the location the surface of the hole about to be measured.
    sigpic

James Mannes

Comment

This list contains these list options. They determine how PC-DMIS proceeds when attempting to find a hole. If a list option is not available, it is not supported for that feature type.