Star Probe Alignment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Star Probe Alignment

I have never used a star probe before and I am having trouble. I am using a 5way and I’m only using connection #3, which I have loaded a1mmby10mm styli into, because I’m trying to use it as a 90 degree probe. I have defined the probe but when I connect the probe configuration to the module, the styli does not line up like I want it to. I have tried loosening and re-tightening the extensions and tips but they always tighten back up to the same position because of the threads. The styli ends up sticking out at about B210 but I want it to stick out at B180. I there some trick to doing this or do I need to buy a new probe. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    sigpic

Life's tough, but it's even tougher if you're stupid.

Originally posted by IZAKK View Post
    I have never used a star probe before and I am having trouble. I am using a 5way and I’m only using connection #3, which I have loaded a1mmby10mm styli into, because I’m trying to use it as a 90 degree probe. I have defined the probe but when I connect the probe configuration to the module, the styli does not line up like I want it to. I have tried loosening and re-tightening the extensions and tips but they always tighten back up to the same position because of the threads. The styli ends up sticking out at about B210 but I want it to stick out at B180. I there some trick to doing this or do I need to buy a new probe. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Depends on the type of star set up you have. Some allow you to rotate the 4 90 deg tips, some are fixed.
    sigpic"Hated by Many, Loved by Few" _ A.B. - Stone brewery

Comment