Probe Change

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Probe Change

OK... simple (?) question... (remember I'm new to CMM's)

I have a part program that I have called up to check a part we have. The program calls for a specific tip (I know, they all do right?) a 2 x 40mm shank. The 2 x 40mm shank tip is no longer available to me. Can I change the loadprobe command in the program with a 3 x 40mm tip and be good to go? Or is there something else I must do? Or do I have to replace the entire program? I really have no idea.

Thanks!

kevin
    Kevin N. Thompson - Thompson Digital Image
    Quality Manager - Rj Link International

F9 the load/probe command and highlight the 2by40mm tip and pick a new tip from the drop down. You may have to reselect the tips used but, I don't think so from just changing tips. If you do have to select the tips, hit global used and that will pick all of the tips you are using with that probe name.
    sigpic

Comment

The global used will only search the 'search' directory for tips. If you have a program in the directory C:\Pcdmis\TEST-BLOCK and one program in the directory C:\Pcdmis\Act-Block, it will only find the used tips in the search directory you are using OR the directory where the program is (they CAN be different).
      sigpic
      Originally posted by AndersI
      I've got one from September 2006 (bug ticket) which has finally been fixed in 2013.

Comment

As long as the tips I want to switch to have already been calibrated I've had no problems making the change and moving on.

TK
        sigpicHave a homebrew

Comment

Right, isntead of changing the probe file, just use a different probe file, if you have one already made and ready for use.
          sigpic
          Originally posted by AndersI
          I've got one from September 2006 (bug ticket) which has finally been fixed in 2013.

Comment