move points-can they track alignments??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• move points-can they track alignments??

I recently programmed some cylindrical parts with numerous grooves( o-ring, etc.) around the diameter. Some of the grooves were relatively narrow and deep and I needed to sample the groove walls as planes. I used move points
    to work my way around the part to avoid colliding with other features. The long
    axis of the part is horizontal to the work table to enable me to sample the most features per set-up. (I'm still very new to PCD and cmm's.) I have little understanding of incremental move points and have only fooled around with "regular" mp's. My understanding is that move points are "locked"
    into the measurement envelope of the cmm and incremental mp's are from the last hit. The issue is that if my workpiece is not located real close to the programmed position the move points are out of whack to the features so I get collisions . We don't use repeatable fixturing yet. Is there any way to get move points to track the part alignment? Is incremental move point the only option at this point?
    "listening for the last trump... looking toward the eastern sky"

what Kind of alignment are you using? and are you programing from cad? I program from cad using interive alignment and my move point track where ever I set up the part we do injection molding 1"2"3" blocks and two sided
    tape are the two things I use most
    sigpicTHE TASK AHEAD OF YOU, IS NEVER AS GREAT AS THE POWER BEHIND YOU. I Fight for Freedom and Pray For Peace..

Comment

Not programming from cad yet.

Comment

I have not checked out iterative alignments yet.

Comment

Move points SHOULD be absolute XYZ values based on the alignment, to an exact 3-D point in space, no matter where the probe currently is

Move INCREMENTAL moves the probe incrementally in each axis based on the values used, no matter where the probe currently is.