Do you use cad for programming

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you use cad for programming

Do you guys use cad models for programming? If so why (i.e. what is your application, is it a requirement etc). I think I have used cad twice for programming (once was in training so I doubt that counts) so I have no experience with it. I see a lot of guys here use it and I understand in some cases it is imparitive but how many of you out there are behind the experience curve like me and do all of your programming from 2D drawings? I saw a guy import a cad file and write the program for the part with the model one time and it was for a part that I wrote a program for from a 2D drawing. There were no profile/surface requirements (other than planes) so I was curious as to why he bothered. I had a program whiped out no problem without cad, but I supose it is what he is used to, not to mention it is good to have the experience for the times that you do need it.

I use 3D cad software (Inventor) for all of my gage/fixture design but quite frankly I'd be lost compared to some of you cad programming gurus programming with it.

Craig
    Yes
    80.00%
    No
    20.00%
    <internet bumper sticker goes here>

I do not use CAD, mainly because we have Pro and don't have the capability. I used the CAD model in training, and it made some things so much easier. I'm guessing it can make other things more complicated, though. I would use CAD models if I could, mainly on 3-D parts. Otherwise, I do just fine with drawings.

Comment