Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33

Thread: Romer vs Faro

  1. #21
    Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • PC-DMIS=1 / MeasureMax=8
      • Software Version:
      • v4.2mr1
      • Machine Type:
      • Cordax
      • Location:
      • NC
      • Job Function:
      • QA Tech/CMM Programmer

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    73

    Default

    We've got 3 Faro Arms & another that I've had access to for about 2 months. Of our arms, two are older "Gold" arms that do not have the 'infinite' range encoders. The other arm & the one I have access to are both Titanium arms.

    The two "Gold" arms have only had one encoder go out one of them in 4 years (a few months ago).

    The older of the two Titanium arms has had two encoders replaced, then the next time one went out, they replaced the entire arm (completely new arm - serial number & all - not just new sections). Now with the replaced Arm, we've sent it back twice - just boxed it up to send it today - we hadn't had it back a month.

    The other Titanium arm I have access to is basically unused except for testing out by programmers - no shop floor techs. It's too new to have had problems and thankfully, it hasn't.

    I'm just starting on PCDMIS for our CMM & didn't even realize it was available for Faro Arms. I'm still using Cam2Measure & SoftCheckTools (SoftCheckTools should be named MajorPainIn@$$).

    Glad to see our new Arms are as "good" as everyone else's.
    PC-DMIS v4.3 (as of 6/11/08)
    Cordax RS220
    PH10MQ
    SCR200/TP200

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • Since 2000
      • Software Version:
      • 2012 MR1 (Release)
      • Machine Type:
      • Brown & Sharpe XCEL 7-10-7
      • Location:
      • Wisco N sin
      • Job Function:
      • CMM programmer / Tool designer
    Joe Zastrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Wisco N sin
    Posts
    172

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Warcholyk View Post
    I will strongly voice my opinion here.

    Faro Software; cam 2 measur x is totally inferior to the pcdmis software.

    No matter what the "glitches" you may have, or find in pcdmis, it is nothing in comparison to the cam 2 software.

    i) as stated above, you can only have 1 alignment. If you have multiple datum schemes, the solution that I was told was to make "multiple" reports.

    ii) during measurement, if you add notes to the "note" tab they do not show up in your report.

    iii) extremely irritating is the fact that the rotation of the cad file on screen can drive you totally insane.

    iv) mirroring of a cad file does not work as it should. Aslo, you can not delete cad features as you can in pcdmis.

    v) you are not able to measure all features, and then report them in the order that you wish to. This is easily done in pcdmis.

    vi) you can only have one crappy view of your part in the cam 2 software.

    vii) many of my cad files will not "function" as they should. Not able to pick up surfaces etc. Also, many times I have to consctuct a nominal for each feature and then associate it manually. (What a waste of time that is, espedially if you have many features).



    These are just some of my observations over the past few months that I have been subjected to this software.

    I would love to be back programming in the "demon".

    Kindest Regards,
    ZydecoPete
    +10000
    "People demand freedom of speech as a compensation for the freedom of thought, which they seldom use." ~ Soren Kierkegaard

  3. #23

    Default Hate PcDmis and CAM2

    Truth is there are about 10 different programs you can run on either arms. Faro will lead with CAM2, Romer with PcDmis. CAM2 was meant to be quick and easy, PCDmis was built to do more complex work but takes a long time to learn. I'd never buy either of them if I had it to do over, I'd go with Verisurf or Delcam.

  4. #24

    Default Go with Romer

    Really good support and PC-DMIS has the most power to grow with.

  5. #25
    PC-DMIS demi-Guru
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 7.08333
      • Software Version:
      • 4.2 MR1...Windows XP SP2......24" Monitor :~D
      • Machine Type:
      • B&S Global 15.22.10...TP20...Tesa-M
      • Location:
      • Live in VA..Work in WV..Good Stuff!
      • Job Function:
      • Programmer

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Live in VA..Work in WV..Good Stuff!
    Posts
    1,545

    Default

    Romer Arm with Polyworks is a nice package
    ~Josh~ Giles Rescue "Ut ceteri vivant"

  6. #26
    Administrator
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 20
      • Software Version:
      • All
      • Machine Type:
      • Hexagon Metrology
      • Location:
      • Rhode Island
      • Job Function:
      • Applications Manager

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    1,052

    Default

    Romer comes with a simplified interface PC-DMIS, that is meant to be simple like CAM2, but still has all the power if you need it. Romer also comes standard with Quick Check Tools, for walk up and check type of functions. The best thing to do if you have an inkling of wanting either PC-DMIS or a Romer arm is to ask for a demo. Verisurf and Delcam are both for specific purposes while PC-DMIS is a Swiss Army knife. CAM2 I've heard demos nicely, but then is hard to actually get to do work.
    --Brian

    "The best way to predict the future is invent it. This includes your very next action."

    Support: Hexagon Metrology Support Center
    Training: Hexagon Metrology University

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 10+
      • Software Version:
      • 2011
      • Machine Type:
      • Brown & Sharpe Xcel 9-12-9
      • Location:
      • Romulus Michigan
      • Job Function:
      • Quality / CMM Engineer
    ag162's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Romulus Michigan
    Posts
    463

    Default

    IMO,,,,with the Faro,,,the Cam2 is a basic and easy to use software. It isn't as complex or versatile as PC DMIS, but will do the job. The encoders are very fragile and the entire package needs to be handled like a fine piece of china,,,,it isn't as durable as noted in the demo. The hardware and software are work specific,,,,simple or complex are the determining factors......oh ya and the $$$
    A.Gore

  8. #28
    PC-DMIS demi-Guru
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • Since 1992
      • Software Version:
      • 3.73
      • Machine Type:
      • CORDAX RS-115
      • Location:
      • SW Ohio
      • Job Function:
      • CMM Technician

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    1,230

    Default

    Everything is a compromise. We purchased a ROMER and I have used a FARO before. Ergonomically speaking I prefer the FARO to the ROMER. Software I prefer the ROMER. I think the ROMER is unweildy when compared to the FARO. The pistol grip of the faro was very intuitive and the ROMER feels clumsy by comparison. And, PLEASE!!!!!!! the different modes (mouse and inspection) is insane the way Hexagon decided to handle it. Clumsy.

    OK, my rant is over. ROMER with Polyworks is the direction we are going and it appears to be SWEET!!!!!!!
    Bill Jarrells
    A lie can travel half way around the world while the truth is putting on its shoes. - Mark Twain

  9. #29
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • PCD 3.2063
      • Software Version:
      • 2009
      • Machine Type:
      • performance / Global FX / DELTA SP
      • Location:
      • Guantanamo Bay
      • Job Function:
      • Q.E. / Prog / Antiterrorist

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Guantanamo Bay
    Posts
    684

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thecoot View Post
    We have/been using a Faro arm (Silver)with PcDmis and have found it very useful out on the shop floor for jigs, dies etc.Was purchased about 4 years ago and doesn't have the Infinite Rotation that the Romer has now.

    Coot
    We were informed that Faro was not compatible with Pc-dmis. How did you handle the marriage of the Two??
    Thanks a Millionth

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    • Additional Information
      • Years CMM Experience:
      • 12
      • Software Version:
      • All
      • Machine Type:
      • All
      • Location:
      • Oceanside, CA
      • Job Function:
      • Portable Product Manager Hexagon Metrology Inc.

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Oceanside, CA
    Posts
    228

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gary Fitzgerald View Post
    We were informed that Faro was not compatible with Pc-dmis. How did you handle the marriage of the Two??
    Who told you this? Faro salesman?

Similar Threads

  1. PC-Dmis won't see Faro arm
    By Quality4you2 in forum PC-DMIS Portable
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 09:10 AM
  2. Faro to DCC
    By thecoot in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-08-2007, 12:40 PM
  3. Faro Arm and PC-DMIS
    By John Riggins in forum PC-DMIS for CMMs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-27-2007, 08:21 AM
  4. 4.0,4.1 on faro?
    By mhesse in forum PC-DMIS Portable
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-23-2007, 01:19 PM
  5. FARO help?
    By nicoletbn in forum PC-DMIS Portable
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2006, 08:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •